“Despite all my rage I am still just a rat in a cage…”

8:30am Wednesday morning.  It smells slightly of damp armpits and death, people scurry like rodents with their heads down,  black circles encapsulate their eyes which are dead locked on nothing but seeming infinite space.  The familiar noises  sound like the screams of many a soul stuck on the 7th level of hell, clawing to get out and only succeeding in sinking further into the abyss.

Yep, just another day in subway paradise with the rat race!!

Each Wednesday morning I get up and teach a  group fitness class in Tribeca and sit on the subway at 6:00 am amongst people who feel exactly the same way I usually feel.  Our faces usually resemble the below picture:

This is just before I put on my make-up

But screw that I said to myself , I’m going to put on my happy face and fake it till I make it.  I mean I have a degree in theatre so I should be able to paste a smile on my face and tackle the day with a positive freaking attitude!  So that is what I did, I smiled.  I  smiled and thanked the random garbage truck man who yelled “Yo, you look better than Beyonce!”; I smiled when the small woman pushed me to get to a seat on the subway;  I smiled when the person in front of me on the line to get coffee took what seemed like 10 minutes to pay and I smiled while all the other people on the subway went about their day with a look of agony on their faces.   I faked it for awhile especially with the garbage truck man but eventually it turned into a real smile.  It seems kinda pointless to just be another face of agony in the rat race when I can create a little bit of light in my day and perhaps someone else’s.  So I say give it a whirl and see if it makes a difference in your day.  Those little annoyances really just role off your shoulder and do not seem so monumentally important.  Smiling can be catching and perhaps if I do it enough I will become a purple fairy princess (my ultimate dream in life, and yes the fey do exist!) who never has to use the bathroom and who grants people their deepest desires which will make them just as smiley as me.

~Deep Thoughts by Tracey

This is totally me. Except that I do not have wings, purple hair nor could I ever walk in heels that high. But the picture is damn kick ass!

Leave a Reply

